Brand Review · Research-Backed

HairMax Hair Growth Devices Full Review

5 devices compared5 FDA cleared$249–$1,799Updated April 2026
Disclaimer: Research parameters are derived from peer-reviewed studies in our database. Product data is sourced from brand websites. Check the brand website for the most accurate and up-to-date details. If you find any gaps or inaccuracies, please contact us for correction. This is not medical advice. Consult a qualified medical practitioner before making any health-related decision.

At a glance

Band/Comb
HairMax Ultima 9 LaserComb
★ 4.4(423 reviews, Brand site)

Ultima 9 LaserComb

$24944% below median

44% below Band/Comb median ($447)

Diodes

9

Wavelength

655 nm

Session

11 min

Weekly

33 min

Band/Comb
HairMax Ultima 12 LaserComb
★ 4.5(167 reviews, Brand site)

Ultima 12 LaserComb

$29933% below median

33% below Band/Comb median ($447)

Diodes

12

Wavelength

655 nm

Session

8 min

Weekly

24 min

Band/Comb
HairMax LaserBand 41
★ 4.3(195 reviews, Brand site)

LaserBand 41

$59533% above median

33% above Band/Comb median ($447)

Diodes

41

Wavelength

655 nm

Session

3 min

Weekly

9 min

Band/Comb
HairMax LaserBand 82
★ 4.5(371 reviews, Brand site)

LaserBand 82

$84990% above median

90% above Band/Comb median ($447)

Diodes

82

Wavelength

655 nm

Session

90 min

Weekly

4.5 min

Mid Cap
HairMax PowerFlex 272
★ 4.2(130 reviews, Brand site)

PowerFlex 272

$1,79950% above median

50% above Mid Cap median ($1,199)

Diodes

272

Wavelength

655 nm

Session

7 min

Weekly

21 min

How HairMax devices compare

FeatureUltima 9 LaserCombUltima 12 LaserCombLaserBand 41LaserBand 82PowerFlex 272
Ratings & Guarantee
Rating
★ 4.4(423 reviews)
★ 4.5(167 reviews)
★ 4.3(195 reviews)
★ 4.5(371 reviews)
★ 4.2(130 reviews)
Warranty1 yr1 yr1 yr1 yr1 yr
Money-back180 days180 days180 days180 days180 days
Price
Price$24944% below median$29933% below median$59533% above median$84990% above median$1,79950% above median
Current offerCheck offer →Check offer →Check offer →Check offer →Check offer →
Physical
Form factorCombCombBandBandCap
Hands-freeNoNoPartialPartialYes
Power & mobilityBatteryBatteryBatteryBatteryBattery
Wearable outsideNoNoNoNoLimited
Research Scores
FDA clearedⓘ✅ Yes — 510(k)✅ Yes — 510(k)✅ Yes — 510(k)✅ Yes — 510(k)✅ Yes — 510(k)
Wavelengthⓘ✅ 655 nm✅ 655 nm✅ 655 nm✅ 655 nm✅ 655 nm
Diode typeⓘ✅ Laser only✅ Laser only✅ Laser only✅ Laser only✅ Laser only
Irradianceⓘ❓ Not disclosed❓ Not disclosed❓ Not disclosed❓ Not disclosed❓ Not disclosed
Brand protocolⓘ❓ 11 min / 3×/week❓ 8 min / 3×/week❓ 3 min / 3×/week❓ 90 min / 3×/week❓ 7 min / 3×/week
Weekly totalⓘ❓ 33 min/wk❓ 24 min/wk❓ 9 min/wk❓ 4.5 min/wk❓ 21 min/wk
Ideal dose (research)ⓘ✅ 33 min/wk✅ 24 min/wk✅ 9 min/wk✅ 4.5 min/wk✅ 21 min/wk
Device Specs
Total diodes9124182272
Laser diodes9124182272
LED diodes00000
Power outputNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed

Customer sentiment

Sentiment analysis pending — check back soon.

HairMax device reviews

HairMax Ultima 9 LaserComb
Band/Comb

HairMax Ultima 9 LaserComb

$24944% below Band/Comb median
★ 4.4(423 reviews, Brand site)

Pros

  • ✓9 medical-grade lasers at 655 nm comb format (HairMax product page)
  • ✓~11 min 3x/week schedule (HairMax usage instructions)
  • ✓teeth parts hair to improve scalp access (HairMax description)

Cons

  • –Manual combing required (HairMax usage)
  • –lower diode count than cap/helmet systems (diode comparison)
  • –irradiance not disclosed (HairMax specs)

Diodes

9

Laser / LED

9L + 0 LED

Power

N/D

Wavelength

655 nm

Protocol

11 min / 3×/week

Weekly

33 min

Warranty

1 yr

Guarantee

180-day

HairMax Ultima 12 LaserComb
Band/Comb

HairMax Ultima 12 LaserComb

$29933% below Band/Comb median
★ 4.5(167 reviews, Brand site)

Pros

  • ✓12 medical-grade 655nm laser diodes handheld comb (brand site/reseller)
  • ✓8-min sessions 3x/week (brand site)
  • ✓cordless rechargeable battery + charging cradle (reseller)

Cons

  • –Manual movement across scalp required (brand site)
  • –irradiance not disclosed (brand site)
  • –not hands-free (brand site)

Diodes

12

Laser / LED

12L + 0 LED

Power

N/D

Wavelength

655 nm

Protocol

8 min / 3×/week

Weekly

24 min

Warranty

1 yr

Guarantee

180-day

HairMax LaserBand 41
Band/Comb

HairMax LaserBand 41

$59533% above Band/Comb median
★ 4.3(195 reviews, Brand site)

Pros

  • ✓41 medical-grade 655nm lasers, no LEDs (brand site)
  • ✓3-min sessions 3x/week (brand site)
  • ✓ComfortFlex band + hair-parting teeth (brand site)
  • ✓FDA-cleared, 2-yr warranty, 180-day money-back (brand site)

Cons

  • –Requires repositioning to 3 scalp areas every 30 sec (brand site)
  • –irradiance not disclosed (brand site)
  • –not wearable as normal headwear (brand site)

Diodes

41

Laser / LED

41L + 0 LED

Power

N/D

Wavelength

655 nm

Protocol

3 min / 3×/week

Weekly

9 min

Warranty

1 yr

Guarantee

180-day

HairMax LaserBand 82
Band/Comb

HairMax LaserBand 82

$84990% above Band/Comb median
★ 4.5(371 reviews, Brand site)

Pros

  • ✓82 medical-grade 655nm laser diodes, no LEDs (brand site)
  • ✓90-second sessions 3x/week (brand site)
  • ✓soft-touch hair-parting teeth (brand site)
  • ✓FDA-cleared, 2-yr warranty, 180-day money-back (brand site)

Cons

  • –Requires moving band across 3 scalp areas per session (brand site)
  • –irradiance not disclosed (brand site)
  • –not wearable like cap or hat (brand site)

Diodes

82

Laser / LED

82L + 0 LED

Power

N/D

Wavelength

655 nm

Protocol

90 min / 3×/week

Weekly

4.5 min

Warranty

1 yr

Guarantee

180-day

HairMax PowerFlex 272
Mid Cap

HairMax PowerFlex 272

$1,79950% above Mid Cap median
★ 4.2(130 reviews, Brand site)

Pros

  • ✓272 medical-grade 655nm laser diodes, no LEDs (brand site)
  • ✓7-min sessions 3x/week (brand site)
  • ✓fully cordless rechargeable battery + controller (brand site)
  • ✓FDA-cleared, 2-yr warranty, 180-day money-back (brand site)

Cons

  • –Irradiance not disclosed (brand site)
  • –external controller and battery worn during treatment (brand site)
  • –premium price vs lower-diode HairMax bands (brand site)

Diodes

272

Laser / LED

272L + 0 LED

Power

N/D

Wavelength

655 nm

Protocol

7 min / 3×/week

Weekly

21 min

Warranty

1 yr

Guarantee

180-day

Research behind the scores

StudyWhat it found
Low-Level Laser Therapy for AGA — Liu et al. 2019

Liu et al., 2019

Devices under 60 min/week showed ~64% stronger hair count results than higher-dose protocols.
RCT: 655 nm Red Light Therapy vs Sham Device — Lueangarun et al. 2021

Lueangarun et al., 2021

FDA-cleared 655 nm laser cap produced significant hair count increase vs sham at 24 weeks.

Consumer Advisory is reader-supported. Pages may contain affiliate links. Affiliate links are identified with rel="nofollow". Research scores are never modified by commercial relationships.