Tier Comparison · Research-Backed

Best Laser Bands and Combs for Hair Growth

4 devices compared4 FDA clearedTier median $447$249–$849Updated April 2026
Disclaimer: Research parameters are derived from peer-reviewed studies in our database. Product data is sourced from brand websites. Check the brand website for the most accurate and up-to-date details. If you find any gaps or inaccuracies, please contact us for correction. This is not medical advice. Consult a qualified medical practitioner before making any health-related decision.

How they compare

Tier median: $447 · 4 devices compared · Diode range: 1–82 diodes

Feature
HairMax
Ultima 9 LaserComb
HairMax
Ultima 12 LaserComb
HairMax
LaserBand 41
HairMax
LaserBand 82
Ratings & Guarantee
Rating
★ 4.4

(423)

★ 4.5

(167)

★ 4.3

(195)

★ 4.5

(371)

Warranty1 yr1 yr1 yr1 yr
Money-back180d180d180d180d
Price
Price$24944% below$29933% below$59533% above$84990% above
Current offerCheck offer →Check offer →Check offer →Check offer →
Physical
Form factorCombCombBandBand
Hands-freeNoNoPartialPartial
PowerBatteryBatteryBatteryBattery
Wearable outsideNoNoNoNo
Research Scores
FDA clearedⓘ✅ Yes — 510(k)✅ Yes — 510(k)✅ Yes — 510(k)✅ Yes — 510(k)
Wavelengthⓘ✅ 655 nm✅ 655 nm✅ 655 nm✅ 655 nm
Diode typeⓘ✅ Laser only✅ Laser only✅ Laser only✅ Laser only
Irradianceⓘ❓ Not disclosed❓ Not disclosed❓ Not disclosed❓ Not disclosed
Brand protocol❓ 11 min❓ 8 min❓ 3 min❓ 90 min
Weekly total❓ 33 min/wk❓ 24 min/wk❓ 9 min/wk❓ 4.5 min/wk
Ideal doseⓘ✅ 33 min/wk✅ 24 min/wk✅ 9 min/wk✅ 4.5 min/wk
Device Specs
Total diodes9124182
Laser diodes9124182
LED diodes0000
Power outputN/DN/DN/DN/D

Device reviews

HairMax Ultima 9 LaserComb
Band/Comb

HairMax Ultima 9 LaserComb

$24944% below tier median ($447)
★ 4.4

(423)

Pros

  • ✓9 medical-grade lasers at 655 nm comb format (HairMax product page)
  • ✓~11 min 3x/week schedule (HairMax usage instructions)
  • ✓teeth parts hair to improve scalp access (HairMax description)

Cons

  • –Manual combing required (HairMax usage)
  • –lower diode count than cap/helmet systems (diode comparison)
  • –irradiance not disclosed (HairMax specs)

Diodes

9

Laser/LED

9L+0

Power

N/D

Wavelength

655 nm

Protocol

11 min

Weekly

33 min

Warranty

1 yr

Guarantee

180d

HairMax Ultima 12 LaserComb
Band/Comb

HairMax Ultima 12 LaserComb

$29933% below tier median ($447)
★ 4.5

(167)

Pros

  • ✓12 medical-grade 655nm laser diodes handheld comb (brand site/reseller)
  • ✓8-min sessions 3x/week (brand site)
  • ✓cordless rechargeable battery + charging cradle (reseller)

Cons

  • –Manual movement across scalp required (brand site)
  • –irradiance not disclosed (brand site)
  • –not hands-free (brand site)

Diodes

12

Laser/LED

12L+0

Power

N/D

Wavelength

655 nm

Protocol

8 min

Weekly

24 min

Warranty

1 yr

Guarantee

180d

HairMax LaserBand 41
Band/Comb

HairMax LaserBand 41

$59533% above tier median ($447)
★ 4.3

(195)

Pros

  • ✓41 medical-grade 655nm lasers, no LEDs (brand site)
  • ✓3-min sessions 3x/week (brand site)
  • ✓ComfortFlex band + hair-parting teeth (brand site)
  • ✓FDA-cleared, 2-yr warranty, 180-day money-back (brand site)

Cons

  • –Requires repositioning to 3 scalp areas every 30 sec (brand site)
  • –irradiance not disclosed (brand site)
  • –not wearable as normal headwear (brand site)

Diodes

41

Laser/LED

41L+0

Power

N/D

Wavelength

655 nm

Protocol

3 min

Weekly

9 min

Warranty

1 yr

Guarantee

180d

HairMax LaserBand 82
Band/Comb

HairMax LaserBand 82

$84990% above tier median ($447)
★ 4.5

(371)

Pros

  • ✓82 medical-grade 655nm laser diodes, no LEDs (brand site)
  • ✓90-second sessions 3x/week (brand site)
  • ✓soft-touch hair-parting teeth (brand site)
  • ✓FDA-cleared, 2-yr warranty, 180-day money-back (brand site)

Cons

  • –Requires moving band across 3 scalp areas per session (brand site)
  • –irradiance not disclosed (brand site)
  • –not wearable like cap or hat (brand site)

Diodes

82

Laser/LED

82L+0

Power

N/D

Wavelength

655 nm

Protocol

90 min

Weekly

4.5 min

Warranty

1 yr

Guarantee

180d

Research behind the scores

StudyWhat it found
Liu et al. 2019 — Low-Level Laser Therapy for AGADevices under 60 min/week showed ~64% stronger hair count results than higher-dose protocols.
Lueangarun et al. 2021 — RCT: 655 nm Red Light Therapy vs ShamFDA-cleared 655 nm laser cap produced significant hair count increase vs sham at 24 weeks.

Consumer Advisory is reader-supported. Pages may contain affiliate links. Research scores are never modified by commercial relationships.